Meeting Minutes TNT Area 5 ~ Eastside

## **Eastside TNT May 8, 2018 Meeting Minutes**

Facilitator: Ken Garno

**Attendees:** Beverly Griffin, Sharon Sherman, Mary Carney, Rick Destito, Dave Kirby, Rebecca Mannion, Joe Driscoll, Matt Oja, Katie Oja, Cydney Johnson, David Michel, Glenda Ranallo, Grant Johnson, Mardie Ninno, Paul Driscoll, Craig Gostin, Jess Ryan, Carlo Moneti, Coliln Beier, Christie Bravos, Jill Maynard, David Maynard, Paul Harvey, Lisa Sacco, Rex Giardine, Jane Slabowski, Peter Sarver, Linda Erwin, Michael Greene, Nora Spillane, Stephanie Pasquale, Tom Quinn, Julie Quinn, Karen Lordano, Julie Gozan, Tim Rudd, Audrey Edwards, Bea Gonzalez, Ann Magnarelli, Joan Royle, Sarah Parsons, Mark Strodel, Megan McKenney, Dave Oja, Christine Capella Peters, Anton Ninno, Donna Glassberg, Edward Glassberg, Marilyn May, Annabel Otts, Stephen Harris,

Meeting began at 7:06pm.

<u>Draft April 17<sup>th</sup>, 2018 meeting minutes:</u> Peter Sarver motioned to accept the minutes, Dave Kirby 2<sup>nd</sup>, all were in favor.

<u>Issues for District Representatives/Elected Officials/City Departments:</u> Lisa Sacco, Assemblywoman Pam Hunter's representative, provided an update on current bills and legislation the Assemblywoman is actively working towards. Results from a recent survey regarding the i-81 issue; 40% of those survey were in favor of the community grid, 60% were for the other two options.

<u>City-wide Presentation:</u> Mary Carney, *TNT City-wide Vice Chair*, and Rick Destito, *TNT City-wide Treasurer*, gave a brief presentation on the structure of TNT and the Fundraising Policy. Questions were taken from the floor.

**TNT City-wide Board Elections:** Tina Zagyva, TNT Coordinator, explained the process for voting by ballot. The 3 nominees, Ken Garno, Matt Oja and Sharon Sherman were asked to explain their past participation in TNT and what assets they would bring to the board. 37 ballots were collected for the Delegate position; Matt Oja received 14 votes, Ken Garno received 12 votes and Sharon Sherman received 11. 31 ballots were collected for the Alternate position; Ken Garno received 18 votes and Sharon Sherman received 13. Matt Oja won the Delegate position and Ken Garno won the Alternate position.

## New Student Housing Developments & The Neighborhood Impact

<u>Stephanie Pasquale</u>, Commissioner of Neighborhood Business Development: Commissioner Pasquale distributed a map with data indicating 'Residential Vacancy in the University Neighborhood' from 2008-2018 based on the Census tract. Questions were taken from the floor. Bea Gonzalez, *Syracuse University Vice President for Community Engagement*, stated that the University has published data indicating enrollment growth; the growth is only in online students.

## **Rex Giardine,** *local resident*

Mr. Giardine presented data regarding housing vacancies and Syracuse City School District challenges.

## **Announcements:**

• WACC is requesting design proposals for an outdoor chess board. The deadline to submit proposals is May 23<sup>rd</sup>. Visit the website for more details www:theWACC.org

Meeting Adjourned at 8:35pm

