Southside TNT May 2, 2022 Meeting Minutes *Facilitator* John Sexton

Attendees: Patrona Jones-Rowser, Julius Lawrence, Morgan Williams, Lt. Brian Novitsky, Anthoni Pope (constituent liaison Assemblyperson Hunter's), Elizabeth Morey, Jeffrey Morey, Shavel Edwards, Charles Pierce-El, Todd Goehle, Council President Helen Hudson, Hon. Latoya Allen, Hon. Chol Majok, Al Freeman, Lt. Navitsky, Samuel Rowser, Beverly Carter, Carolyn Brown, Ehd Tarver, Glory Thomas, Freeman Plessants, Sean Herring, Eise Baker, Jackie Lower, P. Waldon, Ida Stewart, Al Williams, Vivian Dexter, Charles Garland, Jackie LaSonde, Darryl Carter Jr., Mae Carter, Tyler Kuty, Cimone Jordan, Corbin Bryant, Rich Puchalski, Glory Thomas, Jackie LaSonde, Tina Zagyva

Meeting began at 6:00pm. Ground Rules were reviewed; Welcome and Introductions commenced.

<u>Draft Meeting Minutes April 4, 2022</u>: Betty Morey motioned to approve the minutes with the addition of asking the board candidates to provide an overview why they want to join the board, Jeffrey Morey seconded. All were in favor.

Issues for District Representatives/Elected Officials/City Departments:

Lt. Brian Novitsky provided a crime analysis overview. Questions were taken from the floor. Hon. Latoya, Hon. Majok and Council President Hudson took questions from the floor.

P.E.A.C.E.: Carolyn Brown, Executive Director & Todd Goehle, Community Engagement Director

Ms. Brown and Mr. Goehle provided an overview of the P.E.A.C.E. incorporated organization; history, resource centers, various types of programming, advisory councils for programming, as well as a description of the individuals that comprise the board. Questions were taken from the floor. www.Peace/caa.org

TNT city-wide board director elections: Each director serves a two-year term; July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2024. 27 ballots were distributed to the members in attendance who are eligible to vote. (To be eligible, you must live, work, or own property on the Southside) Each candidate provided a statement on their desire to serve on the TNT city-wide board. Morgan Williams provided his statement via speaker phone as he was unable to attend in person. Patrona Jones-Rowser receieved 17 votes, Morgan Williams III received 18 votes, and Glory Thomas received 10 votes. Patrona Jones-Rowser and Morgan Williams III were elected by majority vote.

<u>**City-wide director update:**</u> Patrona Jones-Rowser described the City as Canvas Public Art Youth program. Visit the website to submit a youth recommendation.

Beautification Task Force Update:

Patrona Jones-Rowser was awarded \$40,000 from the UNSAAC funds for the Southside homeowner 1% loan program for exterior improvements. This will be administered through Home HeadQuarters.

Announcements:

- Salina Branch Free library, May 11th at 11am candidate finalists will be announced for the Woman of the Year award through Assemblywoman Hunter's office.
- 1721 South Salina Street is the location for HHQ SMNC and Financial Empowerment Center. HHQ is currently hiring for a financial and housing counselor.
- SHARP \$3,000 grant for owner occupied housing improvements. SUN will assist in the application process. Contact Rich Puchalski for more information. <u>rich@sunaction.org</u> Elizabeth Morey motioned to adjourn the meeting at 7:34pm, Al Freeman seconded, all were in favor.

